State Employee Holidays for Fiscal Year 2017

Holiday

Agency status

Date

Labor Day

All agencies closed

Mon 9/5/16

Rosh Hashanah

Optional Holiday

Mon 10/3/16

Rosh Hashanah

Optional Holiday

Tues 10/4/16

Yom Kippur

Optional Holiday

Wed 10/12/16

Veterans Day

All agencies closed

Fri 11/11/16

Thanksgiving Day

All agencies closed

Thur 11/24/16

Day after Thanksgiving

All agencies closed

Fri 11/25/16

Day after Christmas

All agencies closed

Mon 12/26/16

Martin Luther King Jr. Day

All agencies closed

Mon 1/16/17

Confederate Heroes Day

Skeleton crew required

Thur 1/19/17

Presidents’ Day

All agencies closed

Mon 2/20/17

Texas Independence Day

Skeleton crew required

Thur 3/2/17

Cesar Chavez Day

Optional Holiday

Fri 3/31/17

Good Friday

Optional Holiday

Fri 4/14/17

San Jacinto Day

Skeleton crew required

Fri 4/21/17

Memorial Day

All agencies closed

Mon 5/29/17

Emancipation Day Skeleton crew required Mon 6/19/17 

Independence Day

All agencies closed

Tues 7/4/17

Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, New Year's Day and LBJ’s Birthday fall on weekends during FY 2017.

Source: www.hr.sao.texas.gov/Documents/Holidays/Holidays2017.pdf

New! Print and cut out the TPEA State Employee Holidays Wallet Card (PDF)  for easy reference.